Birthday Indulgences: Books and Cupcakes!

Today is my birthday, which means I get to spend the day doing the things I love most!

Tree Grows In BrooklynThe first, of course, is read, and I plan to treat myself with a nice two or three hours at the library with Betty Smith’s A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, one of the very best coming-of-age books ever. It’s no surprise that I love this story about a girl who falls hard for books, who uses her love of words to rise above her heartbreaking (although not altogether unloving) circumstances and make something of herself. It’s a beautiful story that is beautifully written… And it’s no coincidence that I assigned it to my Rediscovering the Classics book class during my birthday month!

The second thing I get to spend hours doing today is a newly discovered love of mine: Elaborate Food. My birthday choice this year was Teacup Cupcakes, made in the beautiful china teacups inherited from my grandmother. I know this is a bkwurm blog, and cupcakes have nothing to do with books except as a tasty treat to keep up your energy for reading, but scroll down for a feast for the eyes (and the all-too-easy directions for making it)!

Teacup Cupcakes

Start by using your favorite cake recipe (mine is pound cake) and follow instructions for cupcakes.

Start by using your favorite cake recipe (mine is pound cake) and follow instructions for cupcakes.

 

I researched the china maker & pattern online to make sure it was oven-safe before putting them in.

I researched the china maker & pattern online to make sure it was oven-safe before putting them in.

 

Baked according to the cake recipe, but I checked after 15 minutes, and every 5 after that to make sure they didn't burn.

Baked according to the cake recipe, but I checked after 15 minutes, and every 5 after that to make sure they didn’t burn.

 

The glaze is SUPER easy and SUPER delicious--fresh-squeezed lemon juice and powdered sugar. Yum!

The glaze is SUPER easy and SUPER delicious–fresh-squeezed lemon juice and powdered sugar. Yum!

 

Covered with dishes while the glaze hardens and I move on to...

Covered with dishes while the glaze hardens and I move on to…

 

...Preparing the cherries for the topping. I used regular old maraschino cherries, dried well.

…Preparing the cherries for the topping. I used regular old maraschino cherries, dried well.

 

Dip into chocolate chips melted in the microwave, then set on greased foil or wax paper in the fridge for an hour or so to harden.

Dip into chocolate chips melted in the microwave, then set on greased foil or wax paper in the fridge for an hour or so to harden.

 

Place the cherries on top of your Teacup Cupcakes and viola! A dessert fit for a Queen!

Place the cherries on top of your Teacup Cupcakes and viola! A dessert fit for a Queen!

 

These were beautiful, delicious, and so much fun to make! Plus, something about being made IN the teacup makes it seem like a very literary dessert.

Follow me on Pinterest for more book AND food related content!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Birthday Indulgences: Books and Cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: Snow Falls in Brooklyn. | I am an Author, I Must Auth

Join the discussion

